vb-nextdoor2

If you’ve ever created a Vision Board (or a Dream or Intention Board) and you’re wondering why it didn’t manifest that flexible life, dream kitchen and surprise get-away vacation the way you’d hoped, you’re not alone. If you remember when The Secret came into our lives promising amazing life changes, it also left some of us wondering,

What’s wrong with me?

Why didn’t it work for me?

Nothing is wrong with you. You just didn’t receive the second part of the equation. While I absolutely do believe Vision Boards are very magical, I also believe some of us can benefit by taking just a small amount of action to get things moving and even accelerated. In fact, when I teach Vision Board workshops, I really want people to experience the power of dreaming big and not worrying about what’s truly possible and what isn’t. When you are envisioning your life, it’s not the time to play small. So that magical part is essential. But I also speak about how you can accelerate things by taking small consistent actions.

Some people can create a Vision Board, stick it in the closet, forget about it and magically transform their lives. If you aren’t one of those lucky peeps, read on. I’m going to share a few simple strategies for getting the manifesting-mojo going with your Vision Board. 

I’m a big fan of three things when it comes to manifesting dreams:

  • Intention trumps everything
  • Small actions can get big results
  • Plan it to accomplish it

Let’s take each one and I’ll show how it works and how to quickly apply it to get your Vision Board manifesting in no time. Let’s start with…

Intention trumps everything.

An intention is just a plan you make to accomplish something. When you make your intention very clear and specific, it’s easier for the Universe to send you the right opportunities and synchronicities. Intention makes the impossible possible and even probable.

Do this: Set a clear intention for your Vision Board. It can be something like, I manifest everything on my Vision Board in the timing that is best for me. Or maybe it’s, My Vision Board makes it simple for me to manifest everything on it quickly and easily. You’ll think of one that works for you. Just make sure it is present tense – as though it is already occurring. And, that it clearly states your expectation. And don’t worry if you already created your Vision Board. Grab it and set your intention now.

Small actions can get big results.

This is the biggest piece I think is missing. Just hanging up your Vision Board in a place you can see it regularly might not be enough for you. In my Vision Board workshops, I talk a lot about how incredibly effective it is to take action on a regular basis toward your dreams. The amazing thing is it doesn’t need to be a huge action. In fact, I find that just very small, consistent actions yield phenomenal results. So, if your Vision Board hasn’t been manifesting the way you’d like, try taking some small, regular actions to get it going.

Do this: Select several small actions you can take each week for things on your Vision Board. Not for every single thing on your board – that would be too overwhelming. Just pick one dream this week to try it out. For example, maybe you dream of taking a trip to Venice, Italy someday and have it on your Vision Board. One small action can be to spend 5 minutes researching on the Internet to find out the best season to visit Venice. Once you figure it out, you’re done. Maybe next time, you’ll look up how much a flight to Venice costs during that season. Do these small actions a few times a week for different things on your Vision Board. It’s just a quick way of letting the Universe know you are serious about your dreams.

Plan it to accomplish it. 

This is actually a follow up to the last point I made. If you are going to the trouble of thinking of small actions you can take to move toward your visions, then make the time to actually take those actions. Plan it on your calendar so you will have the time you need to accomplish it.

Do this: Set aside several 10 minute slots on your calendar each week to take small actions toward your Vision Board dreams. And then don’t skip them. Your dreams are just as important, if not more so, than picking up your dry cleaning, watching that extra 30 minutes of Game of Thrones or even doing the dishes.

If these ideas don’t yield results, then there are two things you can consider:

First, you may have some limiting beliefs or stories you tell yourself that are blocking your dreams. When I work with clients on limiting beliefs, I love starting with Byron Katie’s The Work. Specifically, I love her Judge Your Neighbor worksheet and then doing the work that goes with it. It is so powerful and something you can begin to do on your own and then get help from a coach if you get stuck along the way. Check out her website at www.thework.com

Second, you may not really want what you are asking for. You may immediately say, No, that’s absolutely not it. I know it’s what I want. It’s what I’ve always wanted. I’m not asking you to change your mind. I’m just asking you to consider whether it’s something YOU really want or if there might be other factors – such as you think you should want it, or most people want it so I should too, or maybe it’s actually someone else’s dream for you. You don’t have to decide at this moment. Just consider it, that’s all. I love meditation and coaching for things like this, especially if I’m resistant to letting myself even ask the question of whether it’s what I really want in my life. 

Now that you have some ideas to get your Vision Board into action, what are you waiting for? Get manifesting! 

I’d love to hear results you get. Come back and share with us in the comments. If you have ideas for ways you kicked your Vision Board into action, we’d love to hear those in the comments as well. 

Robin Orloski is the owner of Blissful Butterfly. She loves helping people figure things out in their lives – like how to get unstuck, what they really want to do and how to move forward when they’re ready. If you are in the San Diego area, she teaches interactive workshops, including an all-day immersive Vision Board workshop that helps people unblock, get clear on what they really want and accelerate their results. You’ll also find lots of great online tools, like the free Magic Formula: Get Unstuck in 7 Days Kit and other helpful resources at www.blissfulbutterfly.com.

ad-vfo-2